Information on copyright

With your registration on card2brain, you undertook to respect copyright and related property rights of third parties. The copyright law is not quite easy to understand, reason why we compiled the most important principles and put together some guidelines for you.

Important

A copyright infringement can only occur once you disseminate your learning contents, that is, if you create public sets of flashcards or unlock private sets of flashcards for other users. As long as you create private sets of flashcards for your own studies alone, you cannot infringe any copyrights.

As a teacher, pupil, student, or lecturer, you benefit from copyright privileges insofar as you may also disseminate in fact copyright-protected contents such as pictures or charts without approval by the author under certain conditions (cf. "Limitations on copyright in an educational environment").

The following guidelines are not exhaustive and see themselves as a basic code of good practice.

It is your own responsibility not to infringe copyright. We do not take any responsibility or liability for losses or damage resulting from copyright infringements. In case of doubt, we recommend to refer to further legal documents or a legal person.

Guidelines: How not to infringe any rights of third parties?

  • Create private sets of flashcards and don't unlock them for anybody else.
  • When creating public sets of flashcards or unlocking private decks for others, always assume that any basic material (texts, pictures, charts, graphs, etc.) you have not created yourself is copyright-protected.
  • Mark all texts taken from copyright-protected publications as citation and indicate the source/authorship. Here's how to cite correctly: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citation#Systems
  • Limit yourself to a minimum number of quotations and write your flashcards mainly in your own words.
  • Use unprotected contents (no approval required):
  • Use contents under a Creative Commons Licence and respect the licensing terms.
  • Use pictures, charts, diagrams, etc. created by yourself.
  • Get the author's written consent before publishing copyright-protected pictures, charts, graphs, etc. under a Creative Commons licence.
  • Don't use any pictures you took from people who can be clearly identified without having their written permission.

What kind of contents are copyright-protected?

  • All pieces of work (e.g. pictures, texts, charts, graphs, etc.) achieving a (high) level of creativity (also degree of creativity, level of originality) are protected. The term "level of creativity" requires a personal intellectual effort of individual character that clearly stands out of the ordinary, common or usually performed.
  • A piece of work is protected by copyright as soon as it has been created. Even if it is not labelled with "Copyright", "all rights reserved", or ©, you have to assume that it has a copyright protection.

What kind of contents are not protected by copyright?

  • All pieces of work which don't achieve a (high) level of creativity. In our context, these could be for example single pieces of vocabulary as used in everyday life.
    Beware!
    Although the words themselves are not affected by copyright, an ascertained collection of vocabulary could be rated by case-law as worth being copyright-protected for their choice, order and arrangement.
  • Scientific evidence
    Beware!
    Even though scientific knowledge itself is not affected by copyright, its specific account is. That is why you should only quote scientific pieces of work in extracts at the most.
  • Pieces of work released into the public domain referred to as CC0. CC stands for the Creative Commons licensing system, and 0 tells you that the author has resigned all possible property rights.
    Beware!
    There are several Creative Commons licenses. Not all of them allow for implicit use of the respective piece of work or parts of it. The particular licence model has to be exactly respected (cf. "Licenses for free contents").
  • Pieces of work whose author died at least 70 years ago.
  • Official publications of public authorities such as legal Codes, court decisions, or regulations.

Limitations on copyright in an educational environment

Teachers and students at schools and institutions of higher education benefit from copyright privileges. They are legally allowed to disseminate copyright-protected contents such as pictures and charts even without consent under certain conditions.

This applies…

  • if it is only a matter of using parts of a copyright-protected piece of work,
  • if the group of addressees is limited to teachers, pupils, students, or lecturers of a class or seminar group,
  • and if the use of a work bears on the teaching or the lesson.

Related property rights: the right to one's own image

Every person has 'a right to their own image'. This means you are not allowed to publish or disseminate any pictures of people who can be clearly identified without their approval. For the consent to be legally binding, it is best to get it in writing.

There are some exceptions to the right to one's own image. However, if you stick to the basic rule, you will always be on the safe side.

Image and text licences (Creative Commons)

You will find very many images under a Creative Commons licence you can use freely, especially on the Internet (e.g. on Wikipedia). In order not to unintentionally infringe the licensing terms when you upload these kinds of pictures, you can choose or pass on the licence suitable for every picture.

You can also put pictures, charts, graphs etc. created by yourself under a Creative Commons licence. Thus, it is up to you to set the conditions under which you pieces of work may be disseminated.

If you respect third parties' rights when creating a set of flashcards, you can put the whole text contents of the newly assembled work under a Creative Commons licence and determine the conditions for the dissemination and editing of your text work.

You can find the range of available licence models for images and texts here.

Informations concernant le droit d'auteur

En t'enregistrant sur card2brain, tu t'es obligée à respecter le droit d'auteur et d'autres droits de propriété assimilés de tiers. Etant donné que le droit n'est pas tout à fait facile à comprendre, nous avons rassemblé les principes les plus importants ainsi qu'un code de bonnes pratiques.

A savoir

La question du viol d'un droit d'auteur ne se pose qu'une fois que tu dissémines tes contenus d'apprentissage, c'est-à-dire, en créant des fichiers publiques ou en débloquant des fichiers privés pour d'autres utilisateurs. Tant que tu ne crées que des fichiers privés et que tu sois la seule personne à les apprendre, il n'y a aucun danger de viol de droits d'auteur.

En tant que prof, élève, étudiant ou enseignant, tu bénéficies de privilèges quant au droit d'auteur, dans la mesure où tu peux légalement disséminer des contenus à priori protégés par le droit d'auteur, tels que des images ou graphiques, même sans accord de l'auteur, sous certaines conditions (cf. " Restrictions du droit d'auteur dans l'enseignement").

Le code de bonnes pratiques suivant ne prétend pas être exhaustif. Il n'est destiné qu'à fournir des indications.

Tu es toi-même responsable de ne pas violer le droit d'auteur. Nous n'assumons aucune responsabilité pour toute perte ou dommages découlant de violations de droits d'auteurs. Le code pratique suivant se veut un élément d'orientation. En cas de doute, nous conseillons de consulter les Recueils officiels des lois ou un juriste.

Code de bonnes pratiques : Comment faire pour ne pas violer des droits de tiers ?

  • Crée des fichiers que tu ne débloques pour personne d'autre.
  • Lorsque tu crées des fichiers publiques ou que tu débloques des fichiers privés pour d'autres, pars toujours du principe que des matériaux de base étrangers (textes, images, graphiques, diagrammes etc.) sont protégés par le droit d'auteur.
  • Marque des textes copiés-collés mot pour mot à partir de publications protégés par le droit d'auteur comme citation et indique ta source / la paternité. Voici comment faire pour citer correctement : http://www.bibliotheques.uqam.ca/InfoSphere/fichiers_communs/module7/regles.html
  • Limite-toi à un minimum de citations et rédige tes cartes d'apprentissage en utilisant surtout tes propres mots.
  • Utilise des contenus sans protection (n'ayant pas besoin d'accord) :
  • Utilise des contenus soumis à une licence Creative Commons tout en respectant les conditions.
  • Utilise des images, graphiques, diagrammes etc. réalisés par toi-même.
  • Demande une autorisation écrite à l'auteur avant de soumettre des images, graphiques, diagrammes etc. étant protégés par le droit d'auteur à une licence Creative Commons.
  • N'utilise pas de photos de personnes clairement identifiables tirés par toi-même sans avoir l'autorisation écrite de la personne représentée.

Quels contenus sont protégés par le droit d'auteur ?

  • Des œuvres (par exemple des photos, textes, graphiques, diagrammes) sont protégées dès qu'elles atteignent un niveau (élevé) de créativité (également appelé degré ou niveau d'originalité ou œuvres de création). La notion de niveau (élevé) de créativité Présuppose une performance intellectuelle individuelle, une performance de caractère unique se démarquant du quotidien, du courant ou habituellement produit.
  • Une œuvre (un texte, une image, un graphique etc.) est protégée aussitôt qu'elle est créée. Même qu'il n'y ait pas de marquages tels que " Copyright", " Tous droits réservés" ou ©, tu dois partir du principe qu'il existe une protection des droits d'auteur.

Quels contenus ne sont pas protégés par le droit d'auteur ?

  • Des contenus n'atteignant pas le niveau (élevé) de créativité. Dans notre contexte, il s'agit par exemple de mots de vocabulaire tels qu'employés au quotidien.
    Attention
    Bien que les mots de vocabulaire eux-mêmes ne soient pas touchés par le droit d'auteur, une collection concrète de vocabulaire pourrait être admise à bénéficier de la protection de droit d'auteur par la jurisprudence en faveur de son choix, son ordre et sa classification
  • Les faits scientifiques
    Attention
    Encore que les découvertes scientifiques en soi ne soient pas concernés par le droit d'auteur, leur présentation concrète est soumise à la protection des droits d'auteur. Pour cela, tu peux citer des œuvres scientifiques au maximum par extraits.
  • Des œuvres relâchés au domaine publique sous notion " CC0". CC désigne le système de licences Creative Commons, 0 signifie que l'auteur renonce à tous droits de propriété possibles.
    Attention
    Il existe différentes licences Creative Commons. Elles ne permettent pas toutes une utilisation sans réserve de l'œuvre correspondante ou de parties de celle-ci. Il faut respecter le modèle de licence corrélatif d'exactitude (cf. " Licences pour contenus libres").
  • Des œuvres dont l'auteur est décédé il y a plus de 70 ans.
  • Des œuvres officielles telles que des codes légaux, des jugements ou des ordonnances des autorités administratives.

Restrictions du droit d'auteur dans l'enseignement

Enseignants et étudiants des écoles et institutions universitaires bénéficient de privilèges quant au droit d'auteur. La dissémination de contenus à priori protégés par le droit d'auteur, tels que des images ou graphiques, leur est autorisée sans accord de l'auteur sous certaines conditions.

A savoir, quand…

  • il ne s'agit que de parties d'œuvres,
  • le cercle des destinataires est limité aux profs, élèves, étudiants ou enseignants d'une classe ou d'un groupe de séminaire,
  • et que l'utilisation de l'œuvre ne se réfère qu'à l'enseignement ou au cours.

Droit de propriété assimilé : le droit à l'image

Chaque personne dispose d'un " droit à sa propre image". C'est-à-dire que tu n'as pas le droit de publier ou disséminer de photos de personnes clairement identifiables sans avoir l'autorisation de la personne représentée. Pour que l'autorisation soit juridiquement contraignante, mieux vaut demander un consentement écrit.

Le droit à l'image connaît quelques exceptions. Si tu respectes la règle générale, tu seras toujours tranquille.

Licences d'images et de textes (Creative Commons)

Tu trouveras une multitude d'images à utilisation libre soumises à une licence Creative Commons surtout sur Internet (par exemple sur Wikipédia). Pour ne pas que tu violes les conditions de licence sans le vouloir, tu peux choisir / transmettre la licence appropriée lorsque tu télécharges ce type d'images.

Tu peux également soumettre des photos, graphiques, diagrammes etc. créés par toi-même à une licence Creative Commons et ainsi rédiger les conditions sous lesquelles tes œuvres pourront être disséminées.

Si tu respectes les droits de tiers lorsque tu crées un fichier, tu peux soumettre la totalité des textes de cette nouvelle l'œuvre à une licence Creative Commons et ainsi formuler les conditions sous lesquelles ton œuvre textuelle pourra être disséminée et éditée.

Tu trouveras les modèles de licence pour images et textes au ici.